Rice Research

It’s only appropriate that one of my last blog posts is about my research, since it is the reason I came to the Philippines.  Sometimes I forget that I’m not just one a 2 month vacation.  This past weekend, especially, was a big reminder on this trip being just as much for work as it is for fun.  As a good chunk of the IRRI group went to hong kong for 4 days, I was forced to stay behind due to being broke from the Japan trip and because I had SO MUCH WORK TO DO.  Since my project was done from start to finish, the entire first month of the internship I waited for my plants to grow.  There was lots of downtime and I could take almost every weekend off as long as I got someone to water my plants.  But this month?  It’s a completely different story.  I am in the lab from 7am to 5pm every day and most days I don’t even take a lunch break.  It went from 0 to 100 over the course of a couple days.  Even so, I love my research and I love the lab group I am in.  They have been so supportive and helpful throughout the entire internship, making sure my experiment was going well and I was doing okay and going out of their way to help me whenever I needed it.  I will be presenting on my experiment next week to my lab group and although I don’t quite have a full data analysis done, my advisor believes my work will be extremely helpful in his upcoming projects and could even be presented at the International Rice Convention in Singapore next year!  It has been an exciting couple of weeks and I can’t wait to see how the rest of my data turns out.  Its amazing to feel like you’re contributing to something big like world hunger.

To top it all off, my advisor invited me over for dinner and we watched the new episode of Game of Thrones!

 

Leave a Reply

